A Brief History of the Museum
The Nichols House Museum occupies an impressive four-story town house, one of the earliest Beacon Hill structures, constructed in 1804. In 1885, Dr. Arthur Nichols purchased the house for his wife and daughters. Their eldest daughter Rose Standish Nichols, noted landscape architect, writer and suffragist, inherited the house. Miss Nichols owned and cared for the house from 1935 until her death in 1960. Since 1961 the Nichols House Museum has been open to the public as an historic house museum reflecting the domestic life of a typical family of Beacon Hill at the turn of the last century. The house is furnished with priceless possessions accumulated over several generations. The collection includes fine European and American wooden furniture from the 17th-19th centuries, ancestral portraits, Flemish tapestries, oriental rugs, European and Asian art, and works by America's foremost sculptor of the 19th century, Augustus Saint-Gaudens.
Open year-round, the Nichols House Museum welcomes a growing number of international and domestic guests. It provides an active schedule of lectures, programs, and special events for its membership and the community. The Nichols House welcomes a variety of educational groups for tours and programs. These have included after-school Girl Scout troops working on badges, students from nearby colleges and universities, design students, and adult learners who visit the museum under the aegis of the Road Scholar program.
- Archive of the Massachusetts State House
- Archive of the Massachusetts Historical Society
The Schlesinger Library at
Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University
For more information about unique objects in our collection, please visit our Object of the Month blog!
- Victoria McKay, Executive Director
- Jasmine Bonanca, Guide and Visitor Service Representative
- Laura Cunningham, Collections Assistant
- Michela Davola, Communication and Administration Associate
- Victoria Johnson, Visitor Experience & Research Associate
- Emma Welty, Head of Collections and Education
Job and Internship Opportunities
The Nichols House Museum is pleased to offer the Julie Linsdell and Georgia Linsdell Enders Research Fellowship for the summer of 2017.
The Linsdell Fellow will complete a focused research paper of his/her choice related to the museum's educational mission. Topics should be relevant to the history of the house and the Nichols family, and should be set in the broader context of artistic, social and political movements that took place between 1804 to 1960.
The chosen candidate will work with the staff of the museum and at area archives to complete the research project in the time allotted. The paper will exist as an interpretive resource for the museum’s staff and should therefore be heavily supported by research from outside archives. At the conclusion of the fellowship, a final research paper must be submitted and a public presentation of research findings is required. This 175 hour, 6-8 week position comes with a stipend of $2,500, and begins and ends during the summer of 2017 at mutually agreed upon dates. Completed applications are due by April 11, 2017, to Elise Couture-Stone at firstname.lastname@example.org and must include a resume, contact information for two references, and a cover letter outlining your interest in the fellowship and detailing your proposed research topic.